HomeТранспортRelated VideosMore From: Motormouth Canada

All-new 2019 VW Jetta review--MORE CAR FOR LE$$

388 ratings | 17046 views
The all-new 2019 Volkswagen Jetta is now based on the same MQB platform as the current VW Golf. The new Jetta sedan is slightly larger than the outgoing model, so even though it has a sleeker look, the interior is bigger for all passengers. One of the hallmarks of the Jetta has been the huge trunk and this new model does not disappoint. In fact, the Jetta is the largest sedan in the compact class. The VW Jetta comes with one engine, a turbocharged 1.4L 4-cylinder with 147hp and 184lb.-ft. of torque. the big change is the additional gears in the manual and automatic transmission. the Manual is now a 6-speed, the auto is an 8-speed unit. The Vw Jetta has room for 5-passengers and the front passengers get standard heated seats and optional heated rear seats and steering wheel. The dash is fitted with a standard 6.5-inch head unit with Apple Car Play and Android Auto and a backup camera. The higher trims get an 8-inch unit. There is an optional 10.25-inch digital dash with configurable setup. In Canada the Jetta starts at $20,995 for the manual, $22,395 for the automatic. The Driver assist package is the optional safety package with the latest advanced safety systems for $995. Twitter: https://twitter.com/MotormouthCDN Facebook: http://tinyurl.com/motormouthfb Motormouth: http://www.motormouth.ca/ Subscribe: http://tinyurl.com/motormouthsubscribe Zack Spencer Zach Spencer
Category: Транспорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (145)
Yippie (4 hours ago)
You don't get more car for less money. VW gives some bells and whistles but takes other things away. Things the general public and first time VW buyers may not notice, but VW fans do.
Shiva Stunt Rider (8 hours ago)
But VW gives a frame less doors...
Black Rifle (22 hours ago)
Dont buy a VW, Ive owned 3 and finally learned my lesson
ray lang (1 day ago)
Are the wiper arms still restricted from raising off the windshield ?
A Google User (1 day ago)
Cheap and dumbed down. Doesn’t even compare to Golf. VW of North America is ruining the brand.
Ed Wardo (2 days ago)
Great review! VW proves that a value buy doesn't need to look cheap (looking at you, Subaru). Look at this posh interior!
Philippe Bouchard (2 days ago)
this car looks as boring and blend as it gets... and its powertrain and suspension components are underwhelming at best. historically ,VW stood out with its european design and handling ... this thing looks like a 10yo chevy impala and is just as sophisticated as a hyundai elantra. ... oh and I almost forgot,.. why on earth would anyone still consider buying a VW after the emission scandal?
Most Highson (2 days ago)
Bland design
AllistairTenpenny (2 days ago)
Looks like a Chrysler ewwww
Pierre Huot (3 days ago)
Like for all VW products, you go back to the dealer to often to fix all kind of problem. And the look, is about 10 years to late!
David Schultz (3 days ago)
I'll start by saying this isn't a car I'd buy. That said, I watch a number of YouTube reviewers to form opinions. A quick search brings up Redline Reviews and The Fast Lane Car reviewing the same car. They're likely in your YouTube side panel and were likely at the same media event. Before sounding-off with opinions based on virtually nothing, maybe watching some other reviewers would be helpful. You'll find the consistent opinion is just as positive as Zak's, maybe even more so, especially regarding the suspension and engine, which surprised me. However, they've driven it; I haven't.
Javier Hernandez (3 days ago)
I hate cvts most importantly. Unreliable trash.
Javier Hernandez (3 days ago)
Can't wait for the Passat, that's what I want or the Camry.
Brian (3 days ago)
I think they should try bringing the European Passat to the NA markets, I think Volkswagen would have no problem selling many Passats, but for the US, they should just take the cheapest models and make these look nicer with better wheels and leatherette. The American Passat is cheap and reliable, but just is too old to be competitive anymore.
sereneturmoil (4 days ago)
VW, to my eye, is seriously missing the mark from an exterior styling perspective. To put it plainly, all new VWs are ugly; especially this Jetta. Couple that with the moral and ethical issues with the company and there's no reason, or excuse, for buying a VW.
David Schultz (3 days ago)
I can't get over the ugly front end on Japanese cars. How does the country that gave us Zen produce such ugly cars? Take any German car over those Transformer wanna-be's any day. Just my two cents.
10tenman10 (4 days ago)
See it has a panoramic moonroof. Would never buy a car with one of them.
paIIIazu (5 days ago)
I'm surprised one can find a ''really large'' bump in Canada.
天瑞 (5 days ago)
VW need give us their 1.5TSI, not this old 1.4T
ruzzell907 (5 days ago)
VW is stepping up the Jetta because of the new releases: Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte, Mazda 3, Honda Civic, and Subaru Impreza.
admin7315 (5 days ago)
Great video but sorry, those are the most hideous rims and the SEL Premium is even worse. R-Line definitely the way to go, plus you get those exhaust tips albeit the fakeness
Darss Mare (5 days ago)
Fuel consumption?
Spencer Gough (5 days ago)
The jetta is such a depressing car, I dont know why anyone would buy it over a golf.
floydspiritz (5 days ago)
the tail lights look quite a bit like the 2015-16 Sonata models
Passerby A (5 days ago)
We all know the drill by now. Start with a torsion beam, then years later "improve" it with an independent rear suspension and maybe a better engine. Honestly this trick's getting kind of old.
Μιχάλης ΤΖ (5 days ago)
Why most of you says 147hp is underpowered? Are you drag racing all day long? 147hp is plenty enough for safe overtaking or merging and you don't drive at autobahn, so you can't legally even reach the Jetta's top speed
Great review
Mitchell Pritsker (5 days ago)
I don’t like exposed hinges the ones that are on the trunk.
Rida Al Osman (5 days ago)
-no standard safety equipment like its competitors -engine is a carry forward which is a shame -Price is much higher for base model than its competitors -didn’t know that previous generation had only 5 gears for the manual transmission ! That’s mind boggling!
jh5kl (5 days ago)
your bs starts with the price, civic is basically the same entry price or a few dollars more expensive, not a lot of difference on entry level safety equipment either, and LOL, the layout of the drivetrain in this car is the same than in the civic or corolla, what s mindbogging is to expect something more than one of the most common layouts in this segment. clearly you re just a bad troll
Rida Al Osman (5 days ago)
jh5kl I was referring to Civic and Corolla. You are not aware of what they offer....hmm I suppose you are just an “average driver” :)
jh5kl (5 days ago)
????? i think you re confused with the competition it has
Malikar001 (6 days ago)
I'll buy one when they put a diesel in it again... ... ... 😞
Dan Marshall (6 days ago)
How would you compare this to the latest Civic, Mazda3, Impreza, and Elantra?
mistertee (6 days ago)
This looks like a Focus, not a Jetta. They really dumbed it down for North America and that sucks. The Jetta used to be such a cool car.
Blake Swan (6 days ago)
Cheap looking inside and out. No IRS and it even has fake exhaust ports. Manual only available in the base trim. Cheaply made for America. Definitely no longer German
Brian (3 days ago)
America is the country, North America is the continent.
Blake Swan (5 days ago)
Motormouth Canada thought Canada was part of North America. My fault. Funny cause I even state America in my comment...
Motormouth Canada (5 days ago)
Because the US is a different country.
Blake Swan (5 days ago)
Motormouth Canada ”Under the hood the new Jetta uses the familiar turbocharged 1.4-liter inline-four from last year, although both transmissions are new. The six-speed manual is available only in the base trim, but it doesn’t feel like so much of a cheap-car choice as the five-speed manual it replaces” C&D https://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/2019-volkswagen-jetta-first-drive-review
Blake Swan (5 days ago)
Motormouth Canada why are other US reviewers sating base trim only? Motor Trend, Car and Driver...
TDIPWR (6 days ago)
This car needs a ‘2.0 TDI’
pc (6 days ago)
I wish they made an R version, with AWD and a 300hp engine
cs4410 (6 days ago)
When will Skoda get their version of this car?
Video Buff (5 days ago)
cs4410 they already have it..it's called Octavia..Golf in Europe
Ben Haze (6 days ago)
Sorry Zack but for yes any serious driver living in Quebec (largest VW market in NA) with roads in much worse condition than anything you will see in BC will disagree with you. Also as a mechanical engineer I beg to disagree as well. VW did not choose a torsion beam rear suspension for any other reason than cost savings. The Jetta used to be the car that exceeded your expectations for the asking price but this is no longer the case, except perhaps for the upcoming JLI. VW has ruined the Passat and Tiguan driving dynamics to go after Toyota mass market appeal and unfortunately the Jetta has joined these ranks.
Jeff K (1 day ago)
I sure wouldn't trade my GTI for this.
David Schultz (3 days ago)
Ben, understand your view. Suggest you watch other reviewers. Similar opinions to Zak.
Right Lane Hog (5 days ago)
Malik Brother, I cannot wait for the new Corolla vs Das Auto showdown when Toyota's double wishbone Corolla hits the market.
Malik Brother (5 hours ago)
Motormouth Canada Love your detailed review. However, as owner of mk6 with multi-link independence suspension, i cannot imagine myself being in torsion bean. I know it is cost cutting product but i believe it is mistake. Even Toyota is limping towards multi-link independence suspension for their new Corolla [19 or 20] on their new Global Architecture. Overall, big fan of 1.4 TSI but ruined by torsion bean. That being said, Jetta will definitely sell a lot for people who don't care or cannot tell difference between them as you mentioned in the video. My next target would be Golf as i cannot imagine myself in torsion bean, however, i cannot wait for Atlas Coupe. I hope it offers somewhat sportier handling while in refined 2-litre Turbo minus budack cycle.
CRB B (6 days ago)
If VW kept producing cars in the same way they have, the Jetta would've started at $26k probably. The Tiguan was completely irrelevant in the CUV market, and the Passat was horrendously overpriced, but I will admit they could've put in more effort with the Passat. Long story short, VW was not on a sustainable pathway, they needed to become more in touch with the market.
Brian Lawrance (6 days ago)
No one wants these money pits
Martin K (6 days ago)
Sorry Zack, this car just screams cheap, dull and ugly. I guess they're going after Corolla buyers.
jh5kl (5 days ago)
you are aware this is a jetta right?
Irie One (6 days ago)
The look/design of this Jetta is horrible. Even the previous Jetta looked far better!
foxxmufasa (6 days ago)
gimmicky?
iphoneman101 (6 days ago)
Car looks like a Hyundai sonata!
Marcel Tansie (6 days ago)
The shot at 5:23 shows Audi's DNA
Jeff K (1 day ago)
Yeah, give me an A4 instead.
Aaron Jaggan (5 days ago)
Hopefully they redesign the front later on and change those wheels.
Aaron Jaggan (5 days ago)
That's a cool shot. Didn't look at it that way before.
darwandoo (6 days ago)
UGLY COMES at NO EXTRA CHARGE!
Aaron Jaggan (5 days ago)
Cooley is that you?
Cyril Matthew (6 days ago)
I prefer manual transmission any day over DSG or 8 spd auto.
Peter Wilson (5 hours ago)
I find I don't like modern multi-speed automatics. When you step on the gas they do multiple downshifts, which causes a delay in the response, and when they finish that, then the engine revs go way up, before the car starts to accelerate which feels just like a CVT to me. On the other hand, with a DSG you want lots of gears so you can pump out those downshifts, going into a corner, just like an F1 driver. I'm a manual guy, but I'm starting to want a DSG.
Rick Beyers (6 days ago)
Will give a hard look at the R-Line model. Thanks zack.
padistedor (6 days ago)
I wish I never sold my 1990 GLI.
Jaret Krecsy (6 days ago)
padistedor GLI or GTX? ;)
Jordan (6 days ago)
No middle arm rest adjust? Sucks
skunk1955 (6 days ago)
I was very interested in this car . I think it looks awesome and the digital dash is very cool . BUT I found out that in the USA they are getting a 6 yr , 72,000 mi , fully transferable , bumper to bumper warranty . In Canada however we are only getting a 4 yr warranty !!! I wrote VW to complain and their lame excuse was " we have no control over what VW USA does they are completely separate and make their own decisions " Well maybe VW Canada should decide to match VW USA then . After their cheating scandal you would think they would like to give ALL customers a perk to win back their business. Apparently we are not as important as the USA market . NO SALE
gus zam (3 days ago)
Don't be a crying baby, in Mexico we only get 2yr warranty and they sell a lot of vw here!!!
MG (3 days ago)
skunk1955 the car is great you won’t have to use it anyway
V Poje (6 days ago)
Frankly Zack, im on my 3rd Chevy Cruze and they don't have an independant rear suspension, but all 3 had what they call a Z-link or some call it a watts link and i can tell you that you don't need it. I had Civic and Accord back in the day and the Cruze with the Z-link (since not all Cruze have it) can keep up with them any day.
Anthony T (6 days ago)
Typical VW Fanboy review. Compared to the 2019 Accord or Camry....this looks like such an ugly POS with no innovation. That front Fascia looks like something from 10 years ago. 1.4L, 147HP and 184lb/ft....is that a JOKE? The new Accord will get 192 in both HP/Torque in a 1.5L Oh and no independent rear suspension.......that's just laughing stock.
Jeff K (1 day ago)
Also the 2.0T with DSG gets great mileage, I don't see the reason for anything less in the VW line.
Jeff K (1 day ago)
Personally I think the only Japanese company that is getting styling right is Mazda. I'm worried that Toyota is going to make the supra to funky looking.
Dennis Xu (4 days ago)
For someone who has a car as their pfp, you seem to have no understanding of them lmao.
Malik Brother (5 days ago)
Jerry Ken What? I already own 1.4 TSI mk7. And it has more torque than 2.5 litre. In turbo, you get low end torque from 1400 rpm all the way 3000 rpm which already helps you accelerating up to 120 km/h and beyond. It is 20 hp difference than same torque from 1.8 TSI. Test drove that engine too. With 1.4 tsi, you don’t need 1.8 due to same low end torque. It is faster, peppier, and fun to drive. Also very fuel efficient that gets closer to 33-34 mpg combined or 7.5 km/h combined. And I am speaking from the experience. Of course 2.5 is also great natural aspirated engine. That engine is classic but I prefer low end torque from 1400 rpm that helps me get off the line quicker with ample powers for highway passing.
Jerry Ken (5 days ago)
i don't want to say Jetta is not good, i'm driving one, and i love it. and this good video,
Pawel X (6 days ago)
I like it.
Bradley Groot (6 days ago)
Lots of poor handling cars with independent rear suspensions out there. If all the other components of the suspension can be higher quality due to using a live rear axle you might be better off.
David Schultz (3 days ago)
Can't argue with that.
Maestro_T (6 days ago)
I wonder what the numbers would be for the Golf in Canada if they hadn't changed the name to Rabbit a couple of times in its existence.
BORU (6 days ago)
I thought you were a big fan of the Audi digital dash. Why the change? I prefer a well engineered instrument cluster and you were one of the guys swinging me to the digital.
Frank Ober (6 days ago)
I believe Zack has always said the digital dash is gimmicky. I agree with what has been said in other reviews. Digital dash will be fun for the first week, then it will be set to the drivers preference and likely not be messed with again.
Maestro_T (6 days ago)
Guess it doesn't hold up over the long term.
lexusfan100 (6 days ago)
so i noticed that the back seats have got no vents?? wtf!!!..kinda lame..but u said they will had heated rear seats later on?? kinda confusing
Kellington Link (6 days ago)
Thanks Zack, another great video. My Wife drives an ‘12 Jetta Highline (2.5 L) and loves it. My only concern with the Jetta is the degree of noise and vibration. Bear in mind, I am comparing it against my ‘07 Buick Allure or my older 2001 740i. Good car the Jetta, just not amazing. After a few years it just feels ordinary. Thanks again.
Norman Ran (6 days ago)
the 2.5L engine is a great engine! it's even better than some 2.0T engine,
smasila (6 days ago)
boring
William Bouma (6 days ago)
Gotta love the completely fake and closed exhaust tips. You can get real metal dual exhaust tips on a ford escape, but only fake plastic bumper moulding on a vw or audi.
Aleks Lajzer (6 days ago)
William Bouma Mercedes started this trend. Most cars will come this way soon as hiding the “dirty” tailpipes will become the norm.
Right Lane Hog (6 days ago)
"Zack you're just a VW fanboy," he said while rolling his eyes.
Dave In Canada (6 days ago)
I still can't get past VW funding research that gassed monkey's with diesel fumes. No sale for me.
Most Highson (2 days ago)
Todd Stevens Korean
bo jangles (3 days ago)
Couldn't agree with you more, I purchased a VW a few years back before seeing the documentary, a truly horrid company.
Sidon Ronaldinho (4 days ago)
Let´s not forget: Non of these monkeys was killed or seriously hurt. And what they did there was technically not illegal. But since it was morally wrong they still fired the responsible manager.
SophisticatedAss (4 days ago)
Who cares, go get a electric car then
Dave In Canada (5 days ago)
Agreed, Leather isn't even necessary. Synthetics nowadays are extremely close to the look and feel of leather.
chargersrt10 (6 days ago)
Boo hoo. No diesel. :-(.
Joe E. (6 days ago)
Torque is pretty good but this makes me a little worried about it's long term reliability. I heard that turbo engines contribute more on the wear and tear of a car. Higher repair cost means a no no for me.
Jeff K (1 day ago)
The 2.0T in my GTI is an iron block.
Malik Brother (5 days ago)
This engine is reliable. Ironed out for all those issues in the last five years tested and released in Europe. Luckily, North America got the engine that is truly worked out free of error thank to Europe and the rest of worlds being beta testers. I own it. So far, no issue. If you are concerned about the long term reliability while maintenance cost, Corolla might be your best bet, albeit very boring but practically reliable and cheap maintenance.
Cyril Matthew (6 days ago)
Dude power is the resultant of factors like Torque, HP and acceleration no? Most reviewers usually says its the torque that matters while some others say its just hp. In reality both factors are essential and how car builds up again depends on how power is delivered through out its revv range etc.. Yes 147 hp is not that great and 250 NM is fair for a gasoline engine.Its available from a lower 1500 rpm all the way across 4000+rpm range. If we compare it with the 2.0 diesel counterpart with 138hp and a 320NM figures on paper are quiet less. But i've tested both engines and the 1.4 (in its 120PS and 200NM tune stage) can simply out perform the diesel in 0-60 as well as in intermediate acceleration, thanks to gasoline's wider power band. But the low end lag is quite notable than diesel and it requires some more work on the gas pedal especially when car is fully loaded or climbing a steep inclines and over takings do require downshift. 1.8 TSI is a good option but it aint available in manual any more. Even though 1.8 TSI manual is able to produce 320 NM torque(Superb Manual), the dq 200 DSG limits torque to 250 NM same as that of 1.4TSI manual/auto/DSG. 1.8 TSI still is faster mainly due to more hp produced by it, So even with same amount of torque it accelerates faster.
V Poje (6 days ago)
Personaly, i don't buy cars anymore, i rent them for 4 years and any car on the market right now will last 4 years. Torque is nice, i have a Diesel right now so torque is endless, but power is where the speed comes from, so if you want a good 1/4 mile time, you need power and 147hp is low, but competitive as a base engine.
Cyril Matthew (6 days ago)
Joe E. Great question dude. Mostly VW petrol engines are made out of aluminium, especially oil leakage was a problem especially due to its low ground clearance. 1.4 TSI is a balanced engine and for the time being doesn't have exhibited any major issues and widely used in Skodas and Audis. Germans wont be as reliable as a Japanese cars any day. Generally speaking N.A engines should be more reliable than its turbo counterpart.
Adam C (6 days ago)
The back looks like a model 3
jh5kl (5 days ago)
WTF?? sir, step aside of your keyboard please
Erkal (6 days ago)
Looks more like a midsize sedan
Cyril Matthew (6 days ago)
DAVID Y yes passat isnt a full size car as superb. It's still a large mid size
DAVID Y (6 days ago)
The Passat will feel more like a large sized sedan with the way things are going ....
Erkal (6 days ago)
Cyril Matthew the Passat is
Cyril Matthew (6 days ago)
Its a midsize sedan no ..in US and Canada
DAVID Y (6 days ago)
I was gonna say the same thing. So sick of cars getting bigger with every redesign.
Teddy Kamau (6 days ago)
Nice family car
Roy Park (6 days ago)
first!!!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.