HomeТранспортRelated VideosMore From: AutoGuide.com

2018 Subaru Outback Review: 2 Million Reasons It's So Popular

855 ratings | 93552 views
It was just over 20 years ago when Subaru debuted the Legacy Outback, which was a mid-sized wagon with a suspension lift and body cladding. It was meant to be the brand’s answer to the blossoming sport utility vehicle segment, and now after all those years, the car has not only sold 2 million units in the U.S., but it’s also Subaru America’s best selling vehicle. Two million buyers can’t be wrong, but in case there was any doubt, the Outback does a number of things very well. Read more: http://www.autoguide.com/manufacturer/subaru/2018-subaru-outback-2-million-and-9-reasons-why-it-s-so-popular Please show your support and subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=AutoGuideVideo AutoGuide reviews the latest new cars with test drives, car comparisons and shootouts plus coverage of breaking auto industry news, auto shows, rumors, top 10 lists, and spy photos. Help shop for your new car with informative car buying tips and car recall news, and be entertained with feature stories, Top 10s and car review videos.
Category: Транспорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (216)
Nimai S (2 days ago)
Does Subaru still have head gasket leak problems ?
Paul Sarsany (3 days ago)
My only complaint about my wife's 2013 Outback is the positioning of the heat/AC vents under the dash. They don't direct enough heat to the feet, leaving them feeling cold in the winter. Hope this new model addresses that.
bonob0123 (16 days ago)
dude talks like the stranger things curly haired kid whos now doing commercials
phil the aussie greek (18 days ago)
Sv6 holden sportswagon wagon so much better.
AG Coarseman (20 days ago)
Yawn...wake me up when they bring 0-100 below 7s and fuel consumption below 12/100. 175 bhp in 2018 is a shame.
Fordman8011 (20 days ago)
Glorified kia subaru needs to leave the american market they SUCKK! And Always blow up there under powered junk go buy a toyota !
Peter Burke (22 days ago)
what is a "more natural feeling" CVT? One that doesn't kill the engine when you stop? I am a fan of the Outback, but Subaru's move to their unreliable CVTs means that for years to come I will drive the pre 2015 5-speed auto 3.6R as a CVT repair is outrageously expensive.
Dante integra (25 days ago)
CVT are you kidding me!?!? This car is terrible.
kam2244 X (14 days ago)
Have you driven it? One of the better CVTs and terrible compared to what? As a fan of manuals I find most automatics in cars that don't cost ridiculous amounts to be annoying. I'm okay with Subaru CVTs. Not a manual but still good.
Dante integra (25 days ago)
Lol led lol this is alien technology
SnowBoarder&Skier (28 days ago)
I returned my 2016 Outback 2.5i limited. Though it had a great suite of safety features, I couldn’t live with the CVT anymore. Engine noise, wind noise, and road noise was also terrible. I would floor it and the car would not pick up speed. It did get me through some tough snowy situations. But that CVT was a first and last for me.
Peter Cheney (30 days ago)
No, I buy new and keep long term, not maintaining would be foolish. Do your own Internet search on specific problems.
M Stevens (1 month ago)
More like an overly enthusiastic sales pitch than a legitimate review.
ludovicoC (1 month ago)
Sami is high-energy, enthusiastic, and adorable!
YoshiMania (1 month ago)
Didn’t know Post Malone got rid of his tattoos and was doing car reviews now...
rups2k7 (1 month ago)
Front facing camera. Who needs them
ecolodge (1 month ago)
you're trying too hard ahmed
Alex Tsahalis (1 month ago)
He talks like a dork....it's cute :)
Jason99942 (1 month ago)
For those with the 2.5i engine. - Are you really getting 25 mpg in the city? I've read reports from various sites including Fuelly that state lower mpg for mostly city driving. - Does that drone of the cvt or engine, bother you? - Do you regret not getting the 3.6r engine, or does the 2.5i provide enough acceleration for you to pass on 2-lane highways? - Any other complaints or comments?
kam2244 X (14 days ago)
- Not sure about just city, my 2016 Outback got about 28 with about even split between city and highway (I do have a bit of a lead foot) - Never had drone from the CVTs in our 2015 Legacy, 2016 Outback, 2018 Impreza or 2019 Ascent. I did drive other CVTs that I disliked including a horrible 2015 Hyundai Sonata we once rented. The engines haven't bothered me either. You do hear them sometimes but you do in most cars that aren't luxury coffins. - I would rather have the fuel economy of the 2.5i and it does provide decent acceleration. That said, it is not a sporty engine and there were times where additional power would have been appreciated. The turbo in the Ascent is definitely an improvement despite the added weight. - My biggest complaint about the Legacy and Outback is the aggressive lumbar in the front seats. Subaru seats seem designed for women who have more curve in their backs than men. I have seen others complain about this too. Even set all the way back it killed my back until I figured out how to remove the big plastic piece from inside the seat. I did that in the Outback. My wife wouldn't let me do that to her Legacy since she loved the seat and even adjusted it for more lumbar. Hurts just thinking about it. The Impreza is not as bad so I don't mind driving it. I did do the lumbar-ectomy on the Ascent the day after I bought it.
ACitizenOfOurWorld (1 month ago)
Well done review. You included information not seen/heard on any of the other channels.
tfre3927 (1 month ago)
Adaptive is optical not radar - lame.
Tom Eisenmenger (22 days ago)
tfre3927 Why does it matter? My Rubies adaptive cruise works great.
khalilovH (1 month ago)
Thami Haz Athaad in a Thubaru
big ed (2 months ago)
kiss ass
William Usey (2 months ago)
I bought the limited 3.6r after driving an '02 civic for 15 years. I love this car! The audio system bumps! I was planning to add a subwoofer but after listening to music on the drive home from the dealer, (best feeling ever right?), I realized a subwoofer isn't needed! I only have 3 complaints. First is the mirror of course. I find that easy to fix by adjusting the seat to the lowest position. Second is android auto. Sometimes it just doesn't connect to my galaxy note 8 making the AA app grayed out. I'm not sure who is at fault here (phone or head unit) Hopefully an update will fix that. Lastly, adaptive CC. It will put on the brakes if the car in front of you switches lanes into a slower lane. Normally one would be able to keep the same speed and without the need to swerve to be able to continue on down the lane. That caveat is easily overcome by turning off cruise control with your thumb as you anticipate other shitty drivers driving very shitty. I will be buying the ascent as well because I've been subaruized.
tigerbalm (2 months ago)
I might as well wear a skirt and get som grocery bags driving this fugly thing around..
Clinton Cutts (2 months ago)
Should come with a manual
Terry Glaze (2 months ago)
I have had a 2018 Outback Limited 3.6R for 11 months and this is got to be the best vehicle I've ever owned. I absolutely love it. It's very sure footed. I've owned 3 Lexus's, Accords, VW's, Buicks...etc. It's so smooth and effortless to drive. I figure that the new Outback coming out in 2020 will probably have the option of the 2.4 Turbo. The 3.6R is an awesome engine, very smooth. I figure it won't be around much longer because of engine downsizing to increase mileage. Subaru makes awesome vehicles. You can't go wrong buying one.
JK SIMMONS (14 days ago)
Terry Glaze Have you had any problems with the radio and infotainment system locking up or otherwise malfunctioning?
Tom Eisenmenger (22 days ago)
Terry Glaze What's your gas mileage like. That was my main concern and the reason I went with the 2.5i
doodskie999 (2 months ago)
Why is sam smith reviewing cars now?
Yoli purpleflower (2 months ago)
I'm trading in my 2012 Outback for either the 2018 or 2019 soon.
kam2244 X (14 days ago)
You'll be glad you did. This gen is a much better vehicle than the one from 2010-2014. Fewer engine issues (like head gasket and oil consumption) and a much better interior and dashboard.
I Kozar (2 months ago)
Son of a Bitsssss
brask310 (2 months ago)
Thhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh................................... *had to mute the video to watch Subaru goodness*
Burçak TÜRKAY (2 months ago)
It's price is approx. 64.000 USD in Turkey...
belfastlad55 (2 months ago)
Good Job
Elwood Blues (2 months ago)
I have 5 dedicated Subaru repair shops within about 4 miles of where I live. Figure that out for yourself.
ekim andersom (2 months ago)
Its not popular at all in most country's, only in the US and Australia.
Buttram Goldfinger (2 months ago)
it's time for a "turbo" Subaru!
Whoflung Pooh (2 months ago)
Thubaru, thee v t, thythtem, thuthpenthion.....
Nimai S (2 days ago)
LMAOOOOOO
Leeroy (2 months ago)
Get some voice training mate
Peter Cheney (2 months ago)
My sunroof leaked causing mold. That and blown headgaskets bought a Highlander after Subaru showed none of the love they advertise.
MnOutback37 (30 days ago)
Peter Cheney looks like someone just had a bad gasket for the sunroof and didn't check their oil.
jammergreg (2 months ago)
Every time I get behind a slow driver, it seems to be a Subaru. Why do Subaru drivers go several miles below the speed limit? Lol. Am I alone or does anybody else feel that way? Subaru's are really good, quick, performing cars...Except for maybe the Crosstrek, which is the best looking little car on the road. Just saying. I live in the mountains and I'm not talking about city drivers driving hot rod Subarus.
MnOutback37 (30 days ago)
I'll drive at the speed limit or just over :) won't be me, only I don't have a lead foot either.
jammergreg (2 months ago)
Lynn, well you never get a ticket that way. LOL
Lynn (2 months ago)
jammergreg I wonder if it's the speedometer. Whenever I drive past the speed check sensors in our town while driving 25 mph, the speed sensors show I'm driving only about 23 mph, so I now drive a couple mph faster to make up the difference.
jammergreg (2 months ago)
63DW89A, lol
63DW89A (2 months ago)
You were probably behind me. I was playing with the MPG indicator, seeing how high I could get my MPG in town using just enough throttle to move at a particular speed!
Silent Refusal (2 months ago)
This vs Volkswagen Golf Alltrack please.
Lynn (2 months ago)
One major difference is ground clearance. We wanted as much ground clearance as possible. The Subaru delivered.
ExtremelyOCD (2 months ago)
Ryan. And much smoother ride. The Alltrack is a all wheel drive wagon though, so that seems to be the reason for the comparisons. But definitely agree with everything.
Ryan Slemmer (2 months ago)
Not even a competition. They aren't direct competitors. I don't know why people keep wanting Golf Alltrack comparisons. This is bigger in all dimensions, and much better equipped and thought out.
Family Adventures (2 months ago)
Two thumbs up! 👍🏼👍🏼 please follow PANDA.16WRX on IG!! Thanks
Floyd Matson (2 months ago)
Build quality is impressive, a step better than my 2017 Honda Accord. The Accord doesn’t feel cheap by any means either. The ride quality and quiteness on the freeway is great too. Im averaging 37 mpg combined. Impressive mileage for a larger wagon/suv. The AWD is insane too! Its magical how the outback gets up steep, icy and snowy alleys with just all-season tires.
mixer14316 (2 months ago)
I have a 2013 Outback. Hands down the best car I've ever owned for the money. I actually looked at new vehicles last summer and just recently, NOT because I needed one, but just had the new car bug. I didn't see anything, frankly, that I liked even as much as my Subaru. I'll keep it, especially since it only has forty one thousand on it. Great cars.
HenryTo (2 months ago)
Thanks for a great review. You did not mention whether the car in this review was oversteer or understeer. You also did not say your recommendation whether the car is worth to buy. Keep up the good work.
Rich K (2 months ago)
A Volvo V60 Cross Country will spank the "esteemed" 3.6R
Rich K (2 months ago)
Depreciation is outrageous, I agree! That's why it's best to get with a used CPO Volvo! However, my car was NEW when I bought this past January, original MSRP was $46,500! They offered $12,500 off MSRP, and CPO'd!
Tom Eisenmenger (2 months ago)
New vs. used? Really? Compare apples to apples. Volvo V60 CC entry level T5 price: $41,850. Outback 3.6R entry level price: $38,500. I stand corrected - it's not twice as much. However, the Subie has greater ground clearance (which is about the only reason why you would want to go with the Volvo V60 Cross Country over the standard V60), superior reliability, has a more extensive dealer network, and is generally rated higher by consumer organizations. P.S. If you go with a certified used 2017 V60 CC T5 vs. the same condition 2017 Outback 3.6R Limited, prices are actually lower for the Volvo vs. roughly $30,990 for the Subie. Looks like you're right...but what does that say about the depreciation curve of the Volvo?
Rich K (2 months ago)
Tom Eisenmenger Not quite, my man! I bought a new & certified 2016 V60 CC for less than a new 3,6R, let the spanking begin for less!
Tom Eisenmenger (2 months ago)
...and cost twice as much.
Taylor Hayden (2 months ago)
Thubaru lol
Taylor Hayden (30 days ago)
LOL you're not wrong
Pedro (1 month ago)
Rude motherfucker
Z (2 months ago)
😂😂😂
Mark Kahren (2 months ago)
Paddle shifters on a CVT. Why?
ExtremelyOCD (2 months ago)
Floyd, and in winter weather.
Floyd Matson (2 months ago)
Mark Kahren i use them for engine braking down hills. Saves on brakes
Henry Shiu (2 months ago)
Filmed in Toronto?
pimpmycoolwheels (2 months ago)
4:02 Air Canada Centre spotted. This was filmed in downtown Toronto!
pimpmycoolwheels (2 months ago)
Isn't AutoGuide American?
Ducati Ltwin (2 months ago)
And?
Polestar Wes (2 months ago)
2 million buyers love driving the same thing 2 million other people drive. Robot
Jeff C. (2 months ago)
My human says...Subaru...1 of top ten car manufacturers with the highest # complaints. All car manufacturers make AWD.  There's one born every minute.
MnOutback37 (30 days ago)
Your human is one of those born and subaru has world leading awd, wanna try again dumb mutt?
Andy K (2 months ago)
Man! I thought I was the only one with that complaint about the rearview mirror location. I came from a 2015 Subaru Forester w/out eyesight, and the visibility was so much better.
Tom Eisenmenger (2 months ago)
If you think the rear view mirror setup blocks vision, you should see (or NOT see) what it's like in the Mazda 6 with the camera system. That's one of the reasons I crossed the Mazda off my list.
robert hensen (2 months ago)
did the solve the oil comsuption and head gasket problems
63DW89A (2 months ago)
+robert hensen Subaru replaced the EJ25 engine in 2012 with a new updated FB25 engine using a timing chain instead of belts, and designed for low maintenance. There have been no reported head gasket issues or oil consumption issues in the 6+ years the FB25 has been used in the Outback and Forester. I have a 2016 Forester with the CVT. My personal fuel economy is 27 in town and 32+ at 65 MPH on interstate. Very quick, smooth acceleration with the CVT, and on cruise control, the CVT will "gear down" on downgrades to hold speed steady. The CVT is very quiet, smooth and responsive. Try taking a Subaru CVT for a test drive; I think you will be surprised and very impressed!
63DW89A (2 months ago)
+Tom Eisenmenger your 2017 has the new FB25 engine which replaced the old EJ25 back in 2012. There are no reported oil consumption issues or head gasket issues with the FB25 in the 6+ years it has been in use.
63DW89A (2 months ago)
The EJ25 was replaced in 2012. The FB25 is the new 2.5L engine, redesigned completely using a timing chain now in place of the belts of the old EJ25. Much better and lower maintenance engine. There are no reported issues at all of oil consumption, head gasket failures, etc with the new FB25, which is the same basic design as the FB20 used in the Crosstrek. A new FA24F 2.4L Turbo will debut in the 2019 Ascent and will likely be offered in Outbacks and Foresters, replacing the 3.6L 6-cyl. The FA24F is the same basic low maintenance design as the FB20 and FB25.
Shorpy (2 months ago)
robert hensen CVT transmissions are unavoidable if you want a brand new car, unless you go with a manual transmission. Toyota is, in my opinion, the best manufacturer in terms of general reliability but even they use CVT. Subaru claims oil consumption is normal, really it's not a big deal if you just check it once a week. In my opinion, the 2.0 H4 subaru uses in the Crosstrek and impreza are probably the best bet for reliability. If the deciding factor on a car is reliability then I'd have to say go with a Toyota. Honda is right up there with them too, so I've been told. I love Subaru, and will never not own one, but Toyota seems to be hands down the best manufacturer. Can't really get over the CVT issue though. Locally, subaru dealers are offering lifetime warranties on engine and transmission components so ask a few different dealers about that.
robert hensen (2 months ago)
i am thinking about buying a Subaru it will be my last new car as i am getting older flue economy and reliability are my number one concerns .Toyota is my next choice i have been checking problems with these cars i don't like cvt transmissions
MYOUNGLAK SON (2 months ago)
I have purchased 2018 limited trim 2weeks ago, I have no complaints at all. It is an amazing car.
MYOUNGLAK SON (13 days ago)
JK SIMMONS No. I haven’t had any problems with infotainment system yet.
JK SIMMONS (14 days ago)
MYOUNGLAK SON Have you had any problems with the radio freezing up or buttons not working?
BunderaKZT (2 months ago)
Will Wheaton?
JM76Miller (2 months ago)
Was worried I was the only one. Thank you.
Antonio Avedician (2 months ago)
Should thissss guy have a speaking job, or jobssss:)
TM (2 months ago)
i clicked out on the gloss black steering wheel buttons .
kam2244 X (14 days ago)
Yeah, I preferred the silver ones to gloss black. I'm glad they didn't do glossy in the Ascent.
Carson Redford (2 months ago)
This may be the most well-rounded car on the road!
KarandikarA18 (2 months ago)
HOW IS this a station wagon, its taller then a Honda crv
kam2244 X (14 days ago)
It's a raised wagon so it's total height is high but from the driver's seat it feels more like a sedan than a "real" SUV. I now drive an Ascent so imagine the difference I feel now.
TEXAS 70.3 (2 months ago)
Dude, you are doing a review and not a car sale. Keep it fair and balanced.
ACitizenOfOurWorld (1 month ago)
Showing how the beige seats get dirty real fast and how the rear view mirror obstructs your forward view is not what a car salesman would normally volunteer.
Dody Suratman (2 months ago)
2:53: "Even with 6 cylinder, it is not quite enough..." Not sure about the CVT on the newer models, but my 2012 3.6R with its conventional transmission has plenty power I think. After all, this is a family car.
ExtremelyOCD (2 months ago)
I bury the pedal when I'm moving and it doesn't take long to qualify for a very hefty fine. I've found the passing power is excellent.
Blake Seabolt (2 months ago)
love subaru my mom drives a 2018 subaru legacy
F CHINO-jr. (2 months ago)
Considering trading in my Honda CR-V for an Subaru Outback, thanks for the info, well done. 👍🏻 great review.
Nessa Zuma (2 months ago)
Not my Honda. I had a 2015 CR-V that turned out to be a lemon due to the CVT transmission that they botched. It was the first year they used the CVT in the CR-V and lots of people, including myself, have had issues with it. I bought a 2018 Outback and it's amazing. Surpasses the CR-V big time
27Zangle (2 months ago)
JCA - Subaru has always consumed some oil. That is their nature and they are totally worth owning. With this said I have one that did not consume oil and so did my mother. Also, having worked in a auto shop in the past I can state majority of new cars consume some oil. This is because of the lower friction they are trying to achieve which allows some oil consumption to increase fuel economy the goverment has set. There are a few videos and papers written about this somewhere. I do not remember what they are titled, but they have engineers chiming in from several manufactures.
F CHINO-jr. (2 months ago)
ok, now that makes sense Ryan.......oh damn, I’m getting old 🤪lol!
Ryan Slemmer (2 months ago)
Apple Car Play and Android Auto. Had I gotten a 2018, I wouldn't have gotten it.
F CHINO-jr. (2 months ago)
Ryan Slemmer, btw what is ACP & AA ? 🤔
PJ Wolf (2 months ago)
CVT sucks
Burke Harris (2 months ago)
You might not be the target demo. Outback drivers generally don't aspire to be the 'amateur hour' fast and furious types.look at a manual WRX if you wanna be a race car driver.
Edward Law (2 months ago)
I actually prefer it day to day over my 2013 3.6r... never race the car thought there is a wax for that
Floyd Matson (2 months ago)
PJ J most people that commute don’t give a shit about how “fun” the car is to drive. They want something that’s economical. Buy a Mazda Miata or a BMW if you want something fun to drive.
PJ Wolf (2 months ago)
Floyd Matson Car with CVT transmission are not fun to drive.
Floyd Matson (2 months ago)
PJ J i guess if you don’t like efficiency and smooth shifts
Tony Ren (2 months ago)
Do the 2018 midsize lineup including Accord, Camry, Sonata, and Altima
Jorge Tamacas (2 months ago)
I would have a hard decision between this Outback and the Buick Tour-X
MnOutback37 (30 days ago)
The fact that your choosing between a subie and a Buick...
Jorge Tamacas (2 months ago)
John James Oh, really? In that case, I would take the Outback
John James (2 months ago)
Jorge Tamacas the Buick has terrible resale and cheap plastics
thecman26 (2 months ago)
So what is the Doug score? ;)
Google it (2 months ago)
“2 Million buyers can’t be wrong.” Except when it comes to Toyota (great cars, but SO boring and lifeless)
Cross (2 months ago)
"check out this gorgeous tan interior..." Said no car guy ever as tan leather is one of the worst looking options for luxury interiors
Steve Oswald (2 months ago)
Uhh, definitely disagree there. Car guy through and through, and I highly prefer lighter interiors.
Diwa Alejandro Galvez (2 months ago)
Agreed. Not to mention harder to clean than simply black or dark brown.
James Ngugi (2 months ago)
Awesome!
Ducati Ltwin (2 months ago)
What did he say?
Mike McGlock (2 months ago)
Thubaru
Brandon Renfro (2 months ago)
Weren't you like 6 years old 20 years ago? If I told you the Outback would be Subaru's flagship you would probably say "What's a Subaru?"
Alexander Kendrew (2 months ago)
OMG ... I can't listen to this guy's whiney voice!
Frank Colesanti (2 days ago)
He’s informative and doesn’t put you to sleep
MWorsa (2 months ago)
😂
Randy Jenkins (2 months ago)
What a Whiney comment
it seems to me you are the one that's whining..lol
Greg Caesar (2 months ago)
...
Les Martin (2 months ago)
Flagship? What about the Ascent?
Burai Navarro (2 months ago)
Civic? With or without the number of sales, then by all means its yes it is one of their flagship models
Les Martin (2 months ago)
The Honda Civic outsells the Accord, would you call that the Flagship of the Honda lineup?
Burai Navarro (2 months ago)
It is not and will not be their flagship since its was just newly launched with only a few people starting to consider it
Les Martin (2 months ago)
Flagship implies its their most impressive crowd drawing vehicle. Maybe Subaru doesn't even have a flagship vehicle.
Blake Swan (2 months ago)
Les Martin they sold 2 million Ascents?
Norm T (2 months ago)
Buick Regal TourX 2.0T with torque vectoring AWD is much better than this unless you love in the book docks and never see pavement you should get a truck.
63DW89A (2 months ago)
+Norm T Check the multiple tests on many AWD/4WD systems conducted by many different people on YouTube. You will find time and time again, the Subaru AWD system is the only system that will reliably work when only one wheel has traction.
27Zangle (2 months ago)
Subaru will walk the Buick in bad conditions and general off-road use. Also the Subaru will hold a far superior resale value. With this being said I seriously like the new Buick though. I love both brands :-)
Friedrich Siefferman (2 months ago)
Buick is less reliable and not as “cool”. Also, nobody beats Subaru’s AWD.
Patrick Kang (2 months ago)
Norm T Nobody likes Buick
Thanh Ha (2 months ago)
Norm T dude just stfu.
ChaoticCorruptor (2 months ago)
I am expecting Subaru to put the Ascent's 2.4T in the Outback very soon to replace the 3.6R. The return of the Outback XT would be great.
vu phan (4 days ago)
I get   with my 3.6R  2018.  city driving avg 22.7
Jason99942 (1 month ago)
Stop it, you're making me jealous lol. I'm eye balling the 3.6r and wondering if it's worth the added fuel economy expense, for greater power/smoothness? I'm not really concerned about highway mpg, but would you mind sharing your mpg for 100% city driving? Would I be better off (less problems) with the 3.6r over the 2.5i? 2016 - 2018 would likely be my target with I presume the 3.6r Limited (with eyesight/navigation). 2016 Outback 3.6r Limited's seem to be selling for about $10,000 Canadian less than a 2018 in my area. Would you consider a used Outback, or stick with new?
Jason99942 (1 month ago)
Now you're the man I'd like to talk to - I"m car shopping. How's the 3.6r been for you? I do mostly city driving, yet for the times when we take road trips, the 3.6r would likely be really nice. What mpg would you typically get with 100% city driving? Most cars have some issues, what problems/complaints do you have with your car?
Joe Hamelin (2 months ago)
Amen Brother! Just had a nice two week trip in my '17 Outback 3.6R down and back up the west coast on lots of two lane roads and Redwood forests. What a sweet engine and power train.
ExtremelyOCD (2 months ago)
The new turbo 4 uses regular. So at least that is addressed. As far as engines though. I'm going to miss the smooth as silky smooth flat 6. And driven carefully, straight highway, no AC, holding to 60 - 65, I was getting over 30 mpg. (I was interested to see what kind of mileage I could get, can't do that in the city! And not with my foot). Over all, an outstanding (even if they don't get all they could out of it) engine.
93remix (2 months ago)
SUBARU should be ashamed by putting an engine like this in a car that size... they should easily make their 2.5L HP @ 205/210 ft tq. as matter of fact all car companies that have 2.5 should follow my standards. THUMBS DOWN SUBARU!!
Stephen Bradley (2 months ago)
AGAIN, YOUR A #CANADIAN GROIP, #CRTC SAYS YOU HAVE TO GIVE IN CANADIAN PRICES, K/100 TOO!
bigcrowfly (2 months ago)
Too bad the flathead engine will likely blow its headgasket long before its body dies, resulting in a massive bill.
Tom Eisenmenger (13 days ago)
I've owned a 2017 2.5i Legacy since August 2016 and have put over 45,000 miles on it. I check the oil every 2 weeks and have NEVER had to top it off.
Craig Moorer (1 month ago)
Flathead engine? So I guess it's 1928 again and they're getting motors from Ford????? JK man had to bust ya on that one. In all seriousness Sub has addressed the issue. Love these flat motors though. Have one and it's smooth as silk!
63DW89A (2 months ago)
+bigcrowfly "Horizontal engine" not "flathead". My 2002 Subaru Legacy wagon was at 398,500 miles when I traded it in for a 2016 Forester. No blown head gasket, the 2.5L engine was still running strong. Also, at nearly 400,000 miles, the 2002 front end was rock-solid, and would track so straight down a smooth highway, little steering input was required. I've owned several Subaru's and all have been rock-solid, totally reliable cars that you could not wear out. If you change oil and coolant at least as specified, (I changed my coolant every year, oil every 5000 miles), you will never have a head gasket problem in a Subaru. Horizontal engines keep oil and coolant in contact with the lower head gasket section all the time. If not changed regularly, the oil and coolant get progressively more corrosive as each ages due to absorbing gases put out from a charging lead-acid battery. That is what erodes a Subaru head gasket, to cause leaking. All Subaru's with head gasket issues I have encountered were not maintained properly at all, and the head gaskets were not blown, but would put back pressure into the coolant system and push out coolant until the engine started running hot. Oddly enough, if engine RPM were kept under 4000, the engines ran fine with no noticeable problem at all. I knew of one owner that ran( and is still running!) his Subaru for 50,000+ miles WITH the head gasket issue, and never had a problem because he never revved the engine to 4000 RPM.
Angela Schoendienst (2 months ago)
Ridiculous Oil Consumption for a new car....Nice car otherwise
Mike Wu (2 months ago)
JCA if you open any BMW, Audi, Porsche manual, it will say the same thing. My Crosstrek was built in 2013 but it does not consume oil. There is a TSB for FB20/25 motors for defective oil control piston rings. Toyota and Audi has huge class action lawsuits for the exact same thing. So this isn't just a Subaru problem. At least Subaru of America in general take care of their customers.
Jason Thach (2 months ago)
The Outback should be the flagship of Subaru. Legacy is just a *meh* car.
Ben Huang (1 month ago)
The "flagship" would be the WRX STI.
Luis Martinez (2 months ago)
Jason Thach you do know that the outback and legacy are literally the same car right. Dummy lol
Tom Eisenmenger (2 months ago)
Jason Thach Actually, no I couldn't. My '08 Accord had recalls piling up,mostly due to the airbag issue. In Spring 2016 we got a letter from Honda saying not to drive the car more than necessary, not to drive with anyone occupying the front passenger seat, and (by the way) the replacement parts won't be available until Fall 2017. If you want to talk about a "meh" car with mechanical issues, it was that Accord.
Jason Thach (2 months ago)
Tom Eisenmenger man, you have one bad taste. You could have wait for the 18 accord model. Hope your *meh* car break down in the short run. Bye.
Tom Eisenmenger (2 months ago)
The Legacy (which is not Subaru's "flagship" so I don't really get your point) is hardly "meh." We bought a '17 after comparing it to the Accord, Malibu, Fusion, Mazda 6, Sonata, and Passat (can't bring myself to even consider a Camry). The Subaru actually outhandled the 6 just slightly - better turning radius, tight in the corners, less body roll due to the low-slung boxer engine and it had more interior space than the Mazda. It had a nicer, albeit simpler, interior than the Accord (at the time, the Honda had the dual-screen center stack). Admittedly, the Subie is the less attractive of those three but I buy cars for the long haul and I've seen design exercises that don't age well (I'm looking at you, Hyundai) and the Subaru is handsome but not flashy. Take a Legacy for a test drive some day - you'll find that it's not as meh as you might think.
King Of the monsters (2 months ago)
SUV’s are a waste of money
MnOutback37 (30 days ago)
Norm T yup and that joke is over 10 years old. Quit kicking the dead horse NORM
63DW89A (2 months ago)
Subaru's are built in Indiana, just north of Indianapolis. You can see the plant from I-65. Subaru's actually are more "American built" than many Fords and GM products which are made in Mexico or Canada.
Thanh Ha (2 months ago)
Norm T dude just stfu.
Norm T (2 months ago)
King Of the monsters Not the most awarded cars today. The domestics are just as good and $6,000-12,000 less than the Japanese. You'll never see that amount in Japanese residuals for the life of the car.
Dennis Dowd (2 months ago)
I agree, get an electric bike, that is where I am going.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.